Who loves pickles? THIS GIRL. As you can imagine, when finding out I’d be shooting for a small local company who makes pickles I was pretty happy about life. Alchemy Pickle Company is a mom-and-pop type company that you can find at various Toronto farmer’s markets and select grocery stores {check their Website or Facebook Page to see where they’ll be next}. It’s not the sort of pickles you may think either. In fact when I met them last winter they weren’t even doing the classic pickle, likely due to cucumbers not being in season at the time {although if you follow them on Instagram, you’ll see they have in the summer!}.

 

That’s what I love about small companies like this – they work directly with Southern Ontario farmers and use what’s fresh and in season to create their tasty tasty concoctions. They use a natural fermentation process to preserve the food when it’s at its freshest, so you’re getting all of the best nutrients the food has to offer. It’s a wonderful local talent meets local farmer collaboration that results in some really great products like Sauerkraut, Ruby Kraut, Curtido, and Hot Sauce. I have to admit I have a pretty big food crush on their Szechuan Daikon.

 

I did some product shots for their website, but my favourites were the beauty shots of the raw produce. Vegatables are just so pretty. I never thought I’d have as much fun shooting turnips before… and don’t get me started on that huge purple garlic.
laura crowell, knife & spoon media, alchemy pickle company, toronto, food, photography

laura crowell, knife & spoon media, alchemy pickle company, toronto, food, photography

 

laura crowell, knife & spoon media, alchemy pickle company, toronto, food, photography laura crowell, knife & spoon media, alchemy pickle company, toronto, food, photography laura crowell, knife & spoon media, alchemy pickle company, toronto, food, photography

 

Not going to lie, I had no idea what Kombucha {last photo} was before I met them. It looks like a mad science project when it’s being made and it’s crazy delicious. They have a freaking RAINBOW of flavours too. It makes my eyes happy. If you want to know more about it, visit them at one of the markets they frequent – I believe Wychwood Barns & Trinity Bellwoods are a couple of their regular stops.

 

Thanks again to Knife & Spoon Media for having me out to shoot this for them. If you need a stylish new website, branding, or photography for your restaurant or food brand, definitely reach out!

 

Client: Alchemy Pickle Company

Agency: Knife & Spoon Media

Photography: Laura Crowell

Food Stylist: Logan Prong

