I love my neighbourhood. I love making pictures in my neighbourhood. There’s so many interesting backdrops you can find just by going for a quick stroll. When Ben contacted me to shoot some images for his upcoming EP release Seven Thirty, it was the first place I thought of for locations and I’m so glad he was on board for it!

 

Ben met me at my place first and said hello to my boyfriend & I’s first batch of foster kittens {how all good shoots should begin} before we headed off for a little photo walk adventure together. We simple stuck to the side streets of West Queen West and stopped whenever we found a fun looking wall to stand in front of. In the area that a fifteen minute jaunt would cover, we found everything we needed. The sun was perfect. There was even talk of stopping at Bang Bang, but alas that after-dinner crowd was lined up down the street, so no ice cream sandwiches for us. This time!

laura crowell, laura makes pictures, benjamin ross, seven thirty, cd, album, musician, toronto, photography

laura crowell, laura makes pictures, benjamin ross, seven thirty, cd, album, musician, toronto, photography

laura crowell, laura makes pictures, benjamin ross, seven thirty, cd, album, musician, toronto, photography

laura crowell, laura makes pictures, benjamin ross, seven thirty, cd, album, musician, toronto, photography

laura crowell, laura makes pictures, benjamin ross, seven thirty, cd, album, musician, toronto, photography

 

Ben was so easy to photograph and took direction spectacularly well. So much fun to work with! Fun fact: his eyes are two different colours. I wasn’t sure if I was being crazy or not when I was reviewing the photos, so I had to text him to find out for sure. One blue, one green!

 

ALSO, fun news if you’re in Toronto or the general area: Ben will be playing an album release show tonight {September 18} at the Tranzac Club {292 Brunswick Ave}. Doors are at 7:30pm and the amuhzingly talented Katie Dutemple will be opening the show! Physical copies of Seven Thirty will be available at the show, but for those who can’t make it you can also find the album on iTunes and Google Play. For more information on the event, check out the event page here!

 

If you’re looking for a preview of his musical stylings, check out the Benjamin Ross Music channel on Youtube! And be sure to keep your eye on benjamin-ross.com for future show dates and news.

