Looks like I’m following my usual pattern of not uploading photos of my Doors Open Toronto adventure until many moons after the fact. At least I’m consistent! My second stop this year was Commerce Court North. I can’t remember if there were tours running through this one, but I just kind of wandered around with my camera pointed at the ceiling {and what a ceiling!} so I probably wouldn’t have been paying attention to them anyways.

Commerce Court North

Commerce Court North

Commerce Court North

Commerce Court North

Commerce Court North

Commerce Court North

Commerce Court North

Commerce Court North

Commerce Court North

This place is enormous… vertically. It was actually a fairly quick path to walk through, but just being in a room with such a high and distractingly pretty ceiling keeps you there a bit longer. They had some back-in-the-day easels set up with photos and information on the history of the site. I was too busy looking up, so I can’t say I learned anything note worthy. It’s a little dark in there, but it’s a gorgeous space to walk through. I wish we still produced buildings with such amazing details. If I had any sort of seamstress skills I’d be hunting down some material with the same pattern as that ceiling. So pretty!

 

I shot way too many photos in here that required merging later on. I need to stop doing that, or just learn how to do it properly. Or get the proper lens for this stuff, I don’t know. Either way, I just never got around to tackling these because I hate waiting for Photoshop to render the files together. Oh, sharing obstacles.  

 

Previous: Toronto Carpet Factory

Coming soon:  King Edward Hotel, One King West.

