With approximately three months to spare before the next Doors Open weekend, I finally get around to concluding my adventures from the 2012 edition. Welcome to my favourite and final stop on my Doors Open Toronto tour: the gorgeous Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre.

Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre

I’m pretty sure what I saw was just the Winter Garden Theatre as I vaguely recall hearing that the Elgin was being used by a film crew at the time {the nerve}. They are both in the same building, being a double decker theatre and all, I’m just not sure where one ends and the other begins, or if they even share anything at all. Regardless, the Winter Garden Theatre is basically the coolest. THE COOLEST.  I felt like I needed to be more fairy-like, or just straight up transform into a moth and live out my life fluttering around the ceiling of this place. It’s. So. Cool.

 

I was, of course, busy taking photos the whole time so I wasn’t paying anywhere near my full attention to all the fun facts about the place. What I did learn though, is that sometime in the 80s or 90s when it hadn’t quite been revived yet, the theatre made most of its money from showing adult films. Classy joint. Did it still look like this at the time? I hope so.

 

{Don’t quote me on that. I’m unreliable and easily distracted by shiny things. Someone go take a real tour and fact check for me. They’re free for the next week!}

 

Anyways, this is by far my favourite stop we made. I felt like I was in a completely other world the whole time. It’s just so fancy. I almost didn’t make it as they only allowed people in at set times throughout the day, so I managed to squeeze in at the very last minute of the very last tour. Unfortunately my buddies didn’t make it in due to a situation involving my tripod getting left behind at our refreshment stop coupled with my, then, awful cell service. Sorry guys! Alas, maybe I’ll plan to go back this year to see the Elgin side of things and they can see it then.

 

Definitely looking forward to running around the city playing tourist again this year! If you’re interested, the next one is scheduled to run the weekend of May 25 & 26, 2013.

 

Previous stops: Campbell House Museum, Osgoode Hall, Old City Hall

