Third on the Doors Open Toronto tour: Toronto’s Third City Hall; or rather Old City Hall, because most of us wouldn’t know what else to call it. It’s the pretty building next door to our current City Hall… that weird looking one they blew up in a zombie movie that one time.

 

If you asked me what my favourite building in Toronto was, I would normally say this one. Or I would have anyways. I think it has one of the most detailed and gorgeous exteriors of any building in the city {even with the hilarious amount of AC units hanging out of every window}, but not going to lie, the interiors are a bit of a let down… 

Toronto's Old City HallToronto's Old City HallToronto's Old City HallToronto's Old City HallToronto's Old City HallToronto's Old City HallToronto's Old City HallToronto's Old City HallToronto's Old City HallToronto's Old City HallToronto's Old City HallToronto's Old City HallToronto's Old City Hall

Overall I think my favourite part about the interior was the cracked mosaic tile floor. There’s nothing spectacular about it… it actually kind of looked like Dupont station (meh?). The cracks made it really interesting up close though. I feel like there wasn’t much available for the public to view, considering the size of the building. It could just be that there isn’t much to see here though. None the less, it’s worth stopping by for a look if you’ve never been in it! Just try not to get swept up by the swarms of tour groups.

 

Coming soon:  The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre

Previous stops:  Campbell House Museum, Osgoode Hall

