Back in May, I had my first experience with Doors Open Toronto. It was sort of an impromptu excursion. When I got up on the Saturday morning I came across some information about it through Facebook or some such nonsense, so I checked out the city’s website to see where it was happening. Since I hadn’t been before, I thought it would be best to just stick to an area that had a bunch of participating buildings in a row. Queen and University is a familiar area, so I made a plan! I got up too late to really make a day of it on the Saturday, so I waited until Sunday to cram in as many sites as possible. So, almost impromptu. I try.

 

First stop was Campbell House Museum!

Campbell House MuseumCampbell House MuseumCampbell House MuseumCampbell House MuseumCampbell House MuseumCampbell House MuseumCampbell House MuseumCampbell House MuseumCampbell House MuseumCampbell House Museum

There was a line up stretching down to the gates of the property to get in, but it went decently fast. Unfortunately, due to the large number of people roaming around inside, it was a little difficult to follow a tour guide. I caught snippets of information here and there from the staff speaking to the more attentive guests. I’m not a huge fan of crowds, {especially when I’m on a mission to capture all the pretty} so I didn’t stick around in one place to get enough of the history to tell you about it.

 

The gist: complete with creaky floors, a smoky smelling basement, crown moulding in every room, a pretty grand staircase, and some ye olde put a bird on it wallpaper that any youth nowadays would fawn over. It’s a gorgeous, historical house. I can’t believe they transplanted it! {The one thing I did learn!}

 

Coming soon: Osgoode Hall, Old City Hall, and The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre

